Efficient dust collection under 90"?

Shannon1066

Now that I have a planer and jointer I started milling up the wood for the Roubo Workbench.  I quickly came to the decision I must do something different for dust collection.  I am limited in headroom space in my shop.  My ceiling is at 90" and the Clear Vue Cyclones CV1800 is 96" tall.  I thought I would turn to the forum for help.  I'm interested in a very efficient system (I do not want to upgrade later) that will fit under 90".  Do you have any ideas?  

The shop is in the basement and I own my home.  Putting it up through the ceiling into the floor joists is an interesting idea.  The 90" is to the ceiling of the basement and I would have room to put the top up in the floor joists.  The top of the CV1800 being "buried" in the ceiling...does it need to air circulating around it?  I'm new to all of this and I do not know what that piece is for and if it would be okay up there.  I have not put the sheetrock up on the ceiling yet and so right now it is open but I do plan on finishing it soon.

The only real drawback to moving the DC outside, is that you are pulling the climate controlled air of your shop to the outside.  Depending on how constant you run your DC this could noticeably increase your energy bills.

• Like 1

The only real drawback to moving the DC outside, is that you are pulling the climate controlled air of your shop to the outside.  Depending on how constant you run your DC this could noticeably increase your energy bills.

And if you've got a furnace exhaust pipe, pulling carbon monoxide and soot back into the room.

you can pipe your suction out a window.  just put your dust collector in one of those rubber maid sheds you can buy anywhere. and have your pipes going across the ceiling to your machines.