Cheap Box Fan Air Filter Solution

jmaichel

I thought I would post a couple pictures of my inexpensive box fan air filter. I have been running this fan continuously for about two months now and I am shocked at how much dust it has actually collected. This setup is working better that I thought it would. The only problem is that I already have to buy a new filter and at $20 per filter it's kind of expensive. I think am going to buy two filters and attach them together (duct tape) and then connect them to the fan. I think I will put a lower cost filter with a lower FPR on the outside to collect the big stuff and then the nice filter with 10 FPR close to the fan to collect the fine dust. When the lower FPR filter get clogged I will just replace that instead of having to replace the nicer more expensive filter. 

post-104-0-41692200-1373341155_thumb.jpg

post-104-0-01641900-1373341156_thumb.jpg

I use the central house vacuum system that vents outside to clean the dust off the filters.  Its quick, easy and extends the filter life almost indefinitely.  What doesn't get trapped in the vacuum gets blown outside where it disappears.

Mike

Matthias Wandel (woodgears.ca) has a couple of blog posts up about his shop made dust collection.  He also went through the filters (discovering you shouldn't stand too close to the filter when blowing it out) but also added some felt to the flow as a "prefilter."  I believe there was a loading period, while the felt caked up with sawdust to become a better filter, but I only skimmed the posts.

Might help prolong the life of the filter, at any rate.

I've been running mine for 12+ years and it still works great. Still using the electrostatic filters I purchased 10+ years ago. (They rinse off).

http://woodworking.bigelowsite.com/air_filter/index.htm

I used a cheap 1500 CFM blower instead of a box fan, but they're about the same price if you can find one at your local HVAC shop.

• 1 month later...

Here's my approach to the problem.