GRR-RIP Block Pushblock

Yaksouth

I have been woodworking for over 20 years and have always used homemade push sticks for sawing, routing, etc.  This GRR-Rip Block outperformed anything I have used.  The "Podular Green" sole provided an extremely strong grip.  And the large, angled handle provided comfort and consistent contact with any fence.

I could control large panels on the table saw due to the Blocks "grippiness".  Smaller pieces were also easily controlled whether the cuts were vertical against the fence or horizontal against the table.  Used it on router table, band saw and table saw with ease.

Only suggestions would be to mold a tab with a hole in it on either end to allow hanging the block on a hook when not in use.  Large handle is not as convenient for hanging.  Also a narrower version would be useful for cuts using narrower stock.   

post-14481-0-21422800-1379601730_thumb.j

post-14481-0-29242000-1379602092_thumb.j

• Like 1

The only thing better than a  GRR-Ripper is two GRR-Rippers!  I bought my first one 4 or 5 years ago and got my second about two years ago. 

My only problem with them is that once in awhile I get sloppy and inadvertently cut it with the saw blade.However the same thing happened with my old push blocks and sticks. Replacement parts are available however.

They are especially useful for cutting thin strips which I do a lot and that is what sold me on them in the first place. I have the old original style. 

Rog 

I have a couple of them, and like them a lot for special situations.  They make an extra "leg" for pushing narrow stuff.  That stays on one of mine.  Mine stay in the drawer under the right, long wing.    http://www.woodcraft.com/product/2004393/29400/18-side-leg-for-micro-jig-grrripper.aspx

Oops, I didn't realize we were talking about different things.  I have some of those on order.  I'll stick with the Grrripper for narrow pieces.

They should have changed the name more.  GRR-Ripper and GRR-Rip Block ????????