Chisel Storage Questionnaire

P Walraven

Hey everybody. I am a student studying Industrial Design at Virginia Tech. I appreciate woodworking and carpentry which I have done as a job and a hobby. Currently, I am working on a project that involves how to store hand tools. I chose to design for chisels, (not sure which type yet).

Preface for Chisel Cradle

When it comes to handtool storage, chisels present a special challenge. Their sharp edges can inflict damage as well as dull they are rattling around in a drawer, or still in its original packaging. The purpose of this project is to produce a design solution and  product for properly storing chisels. I will be focusing on storage for increasing the life of the tool and also convenience to the user.

I have a few questions and would like the help from professionals for my design research. I would appreciate any participants.

1. What type / sizes of chisels do you most frequently use? 

2. How do you store these chisels.

3. How does this type of storage work for you?

4. Are there any issues you have or have had with storing Chisels?

Also I know that making your own storage system is what a lot of woodworkers do, I would appreciate these too.

Last of all, If you feel comfortable I would appreciate it if you to email me some information, (name, job, years of experience), and a picture of your storage system and also of you in you wood shop or work environment.

I'll be interested to see how this develops.  I've only had a few chisels until today and I kept them in the boxes they came in.  Got a full set of LN socket chisels today.  They seem to have an additional challenge still further because of the handle to steel interface.  I was just about to order one of the leather rolls from LN but now I'll see what the collective wisdom comes up with.

For the record, I use 1/4" and 3/4" as that was the two I've had.  Also for the record, a variety of little cardboard boxes doesn't work all that well.

Hello P,