Longtime Listener, First Time Poster

Ozwald

Hello everyone,

My name is Lee & I live in rural SW Montana.  I've been woodworking since I was about 7 years old or so when my friend's dad taught the local 4-H class.  Since I've only had some basic handtools & never a 'real' shop, but I frequently built the things I needed in lieu of buying them.  Most of my projects were function over appearance & built as cost-effective as possible.  About a year ago I was fed up with the poor selection of tap handles out there (my primary hobby is brewing/zymology) so I broke down and bought a 10x18 lathe from HF & my shop has continued to grow from there.

I found the WTO podcast this past July & starting from the first episode, I'm just shy of 100 episodes in.  It's one of a few things that's helped to revive my interest in woodworking & driving me toward making more aesthetically pleasing projects instead of just slapping some pine 1-x-X's from the big box store together with drywall screws.  I also bought my first house about the same time I started listening to the podcast.  It's 100 years old (this year) and while completely liveable, my to-do list is about a mile long.

Anyhow, I'm giving this site a try & hope to learn from all of you while sharing the things I've picked up on over the years.

Cheers!

Lee

welcome aboard.  I think you will like the forum. It has a small dedicated population but it is very active and we are growing everyday. we seem to have everything from carvers to contractors helping each other on the forum. I have yet to have someone not comment on anything I have posted on here.   if you have any question or problems let us know we will try to help.  personally I am glad to have another turner its my passion and I am glad to find one more to add to the ranks.