Recommended tools: clarifications requested

chexxchexx

Hello.

I'm late to the party, but very much looking forward to building this workbench with my son. I'm a woodworking newbie, but rather handy so I expect I'll be able to make this work (surely with some hiccups along the way, though). Anyway, I've gone on a shopping spree of late and have a bunch of specific questions I feel ill-equipped to solve on my own:

1. Straight router bits (to be used in Festool OF2200)
    1. Diameter - It appears that I need 3/8" and 3/4" straight bits. Is this correct? It's not explicitly clear from the project summary page.
      1. Assuming that's correct, are both really required? Could the 3/8" handle the tasks for the 3/4", just less efficiently?
    2. Shank - Given that I'll be using the 2200, is it correct to assume I should stick with 1/2" for the shank?
    3. Cutting length - Is there a minimum required or maximum usable cutting length? If not, I'd prefer to go with whatever is most versatile even if it's more expensive.
    4. Overall length - Is there a minimum required or maximum usable overall length? If not, I'd prefer to go with whatever is most versatile even if it's more expensive.
  2. Pattern router bits (to be used in Festool OF2200)
    1. ​Diameter - Is there an ideal diameter?
    2. Shank - 1/2"?
    3. Cutting length - Based on Marc's commentary, it seems as if 1 1/4" cutting length would be ideal. Agreed?
    4. Overall length - Is there a minimum required or maximum usable overall length?
    5. Bearing - Seems this would be looking for the bearing to be at the top. Any other necessary considerations?
  3. Domino joiner - I plan to purchase this at some point, but would really prefer to hold-off if you think I could make dowels work nearly as well for the glue-ups. Thoughts?
  4. Auger bit - Is Irwin's SpeedBor Max sufficient?
  5. Drills and Taps - Is there any need for these parts now that Benchcrafted only offers the Glide Crisscross?