I thought I would introduce myself to the forum.

Dathan Swick

Well, I am a novice wood worker, I needed a hobby after my wife told me drag racing is not a good hobby for a married, father, that and she said it was way to expensive! So I started messing around in the garage making random stuff, for my son's room on a ridgid 4510 portable table saw and a Porter Cable 890 router.  since I started I always wanted a bigger table saw, but the compactness of the rigid 4510 sold me on it, it was perfect for the small space I have in my garage. 

Well today I found a NEW rigid 4511 for sale on Craigslist, with ONE glaring issue, main top is broken in 4 pieces! However the price was right, $75 bucks. I took a chance and bought it, in the hopes that one of my friends who fabricates granite countertops can fix or make me a replacement. I called the local ridgid repair place and they can get me a new one for about 400 bucks, but I may as well sell the saw for parts and buy a brand new saw. 

Anyway enough rambling, I just wanted to say Hello and introduce myself to all of you. 

And if you have any suggestions on my basket case of a saw, I am all ears! I will post pictures in the morning. 

Thanks everyone. 

Dathan

Some broken granite shouldn't be too big of a problem for Superman.  Just squeeze it back together and turn it into marble the way the earth does.

Welcome to the forum, Dathan.  You traded in one expensive hobby for another.  But I won't tell your wife.

I'd sell all the Ridgid parts in your shop and buy a cabinet saw. :)

• Like 1

Eric, why should I sell all my ridgid stuff? What do you have against it? BTW the saw I bought is made by Steel City, its not a cheap saw. 

Thank you for the welcome guys, I look forward to reading a lot, and learning and trying new things.  I did call Steel City and they have a top for $240, with about a 100 bucks in shipping, I can have a new top.