16mm fingernail grind for small lathe ?

Guillaume Breton

hello all.

I recently bought my 1st lathe and i'm bulding my tool collection.

i still need a nice versatile bowl gouge.

i work for a company through which i can get the Stubai tools.

in stock, they have the 7010 16mm bowl gouge, fingernail grind.

its pretty big, but i could get it for 100$ (instead of 155$ retail)

what do you guys think ?

Nr. 7010 STUBAI - Bowl Gouges, deep fluted

post-7625-0-87119700-1390866303_thumb.gipost-7625-0-45244200-1390866304_thumb.jp

that's my lathe, 12 in max (6in from shaft to rail)

post-7625-0-28059500-1390866361_thumb.jp

thanks for the advice.  I think they are grteat quality tools, i've turned before im not a beginner, but i never owned tools myself (school)

i would make a sharpening jig to keep that fingernail grind sharp, sharpening is not an issue

thanks.  My question was more about if the 16mm (5/8) gouge is to "big" for a small lathe since i can'T turn anything above 12 inches.

are there any disadvantages of getting a bigger gouge vs a small one, if the motor is strong enough ?

ty

the other option would be to try and get a "starter" kit from lee valley probably

something like that one

http://www.leevalley.com/en/Wood/page.aspx?p=56745&cat=1,330,49233&ap=1

any comments ?

depends on what you mean by bigger i have a 1/2 inch bowl gouge but its got a long handle on it.  the flute is around 7 inches long and that is fine.  take me decades to grind that down to too short.what i bought it for was the long handle. here is the tool that i have and robert sorby is a quality steel for turning.     http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/p/7/2/31/129/-/950/Robert-Sorby-M2-HSS-Bowl-Gouge