Laguna 1412 Bandsaw Review

blkdiamond

Over the past 10 years as a hobbyist woodworker my experience with using a bandsaw has been limited to using my dad’s 14” Rigid bandsaw a few times.  I used the bandsaw to cut a couple of curves and one unsuccessful attempt at resawing (which I blame more on the stock blade than anything else).  The bottom line is that I have very little experience with bandsaws, so please take that into account with this review.    

There have been numerous projects where I knew a bandsaw would be a safer and better way to complete a cut.  I also wanted to be able to do some resawing, so I started to look for a bandsaw.  After a ton of research I had narrowed down my selection to the Grizzly 513X2 and the Laguna 1412.  The Grizzly had good reviews and is established in the bandsaw market, whereas the Laguna 1412 came out last year and there were only a few reviews available.  As fate would have it, my local Woodcraft had a bandsaw demo for the Laguna 1412 one weekend and I quickly rearranged my schedule so I could attend.

The demo was put on by the owner of the Woodcraft and I appreciated how he went through step-by-step setting up a brand-new saw (which had already been put together).  He also did a side-by-side comparison between the Laguna 1412 and a Rikon 10-325.  He said that the Rikon is one of his most popular bandsaws and that it is very well made, but there are a few things that made the Laguna , in his opinion, a little bit better.  The trunions were clearly bigger on the Laguna, the Laguna table was thicker, and the overall fit-and-finish of the Laguna seemed just a little bit better than the Rikon.  Another very noticeable difference is the table height on the Laguna, which is 1 ½” shorter than the Rikon at 38”.