The "H7" Custom Electric Guitar

Allan Hef Forsyth

Hello everyone.

This will be a document of my first real woodworking project (real as in something made outside of highschool without the guidance of a tutor, I've done a little basic woodworking in school more than ten years ago).

I have been a guitarist for around 14 years now and I currently play seven string guitar in a touring band and thus require to have more than one guitar for playing shows with as it's prudent to have a "backup" guitar at shows in case of string breakage or other calamity.

Having managed to, for the first time in my life, save some money aside from a particularly productive period at work (freelance sound engineer, have to roll with the punches) I decided it was time to buy myself a guitar for life (read: a really expensive guitar) and since the band I play with most requires a seven string guitar I would be buying a seven string.

This is the point where I hit a problem in that, I have always loved Paul Reed Smith's guitars and in particular have always liked his Custom 24 design, but unfortunately Paul Reed Smith do not directly manufacture a seven string version of this design for the retail market and his custom shop service is prohibitively expensive to the point that it is well outwith my humble reach.

Thus I have come to the descision to attempt to build myself a guitar of similar design to the Paul Reed Smith Custom 24 model but of course with seven strings.

As this is intended to be a complimentary guitar to what will become my "spare" guitar upon it's completion and I am very happy with the playability of the guitar I have currently, I will be building this guitar with the same neck, string spacing and electronic specifications of my current guitar.