Water based stains for cabinets

ace_cobra

Hello, 

I am fairly new to staining with anything other than Minwax oil stains. I have used liquid, and gel, with great success on pine. My problem now I that I am building my own kitchen cabinets out of maple, and as expected, its not taking stain well. I have since gone and tried General Finishes stains, and they are still wiping off pretty cleanly, leaving a very minimal stain on the wood itself. I am now looking into dyes, and GF water based stain seems worth a shot. My question is that I have never worked with water based stains, and with my project being kitchen cabinets, are there any durability downfalls with WB dyes?

Thanks

Many people build the casework of kitchen cabinets with prefinished plywood to help save time and aggravation. Plus the finish on pre finished plywood is hard to beat.

The exterior of your cabinets (I am guessing face frames, doors, and drawers in your case) is typically your solid hardwood.

Maple can be tricky to stain, so make sure you do some test pieces first to help decide on your final finish schedule.

I have used general water based stains and have had good success with them. Keep in mind that dyes and stains are different products, and will look different in the final product.

As for durability, make sure you put a few layers of top coat on. Usually a good choice is endurovar by general, or their high performance poly. Both are very durable, all around good top coats.

Particleboard is really the expert in everything to do with kitchen cabinets. Hopefully he will reply to your thread.

http://generalfinishes.com/professional-products/color-matching-tinting-system#.UzI94a1dW1A

(click the link above, then click the "color chips" grey tab)

I suggest you step up to General Finishes RTM product line. Wonderful to use and great color options. You can spray or wipe.

I work lot with maple. Can you tell us what color your looking for. How about posting a picture of the desired color?