Replacement Spindle Sander Paper

markpelly

I just picked up a RIDGID Oscillating Edge/Belt Spindle Sander used and I can already see that I need to replace the paper on some. i am new to sanders, so I am unsure of what to replace the paper with.

Do I need to buy and entirely new spindle with the paper on it? Or does the paper come off these and I can put a new sleeve on?

I the paper won't slide off the rubber spindle try sticking it in the fridge or freezer for a few minutes. I have also used something of a smaller diameter underneath and pushed down on the abrasive to get it moving. You have to remove the spindle from the machine to get the paper off.

I've had a Ridgid belt/spindle sander for years and it has held up quite well for me. Using a big vac helps but it does create a lot of dust.

They are sleeves. Not sure about the Ridgid model but on my Jet there is a nut on top of the spindle that when turned will either expand or contract the spindle for changing the sleeves.

Sounds good, thanks!

I buy mine from amazon. They sell packs with different grits. I usually buy two packs at a time.

I was thinking this might be a better option than grabbing them from HD. I have Amazon Prime so I am sure I can get these quickly.

If you have a Harbor Freight near you they sell the sleeves for a fairly cheap price it's one of the few things I buy there and they hold up well. I also use one of those belt sander eraser cleaner thingymabobs they prolong the life of all my abrasive's. 

If you have a Harbor Freight near you they sell the sleeves for a fairly cheap price it's one of the few things I buy there and they hold up well. I also use one of those belt sander eraser cleaner thingymabobs they prolong the life of all my abrasive's. 

I have two Harbor Freights within 15 miles, I will have to check it out next time I am there. Yes I would definitely want one of those eraser things.

Klingspor from woodworkingshop.com has quality sleeves.