Polishing Concrete

JoshC1501

I tore up the carpet that was in my finished basement yesterday.  Around 1000 ft2, I am a bit sore today.  The worst part was getting it out of the basement.

I am not a big fan of carpet.  I am thinking the best option for appearance, utility, and moisture concerns would be polishing the concrete. This is basically a man cave/rec room.   I really like the look they can get using stains, especially if they grind down to the aggregate.  

I have some experience with the polishing process, access to knowledgable people, and almost free access to the equipment.

What I don't know anything about is the grinding, anybody have any experience with this?  What should I look for when renting the equipment?

Anyone know the Price ft2 to get this done by a contractor?  I found a local contractor that I am going to call Monday.

Any help would be appreciated.

I did not purchase the pad so that is my caveat. I have used a diamond grit pad on a floor buffer to do a small amount of grinding on a slab. I don't know how much you are talking about trying to remove but you can rent a floor buffer in most places. It might be worth digging today if you would rather try it yourself than spend on labor.