Top Construction

I am relatively inexperienced but I decided to tackle the Rubo anyway.  Marc's videos are so detailed he makes me believe I can do it all  :) .  I've milled up the top slabs and glued them together.  BTW this is the first time I've milled anything.  I was able to put the front slab through my 8" jointer but I'm having problems with the rear slab.  I've been trying to flatten out the bottom with a LN Low Angle Jack Plane so I can put it through the planner.  I've never used a plane before and I'm horrible.  Not only do I have massive chip out but I the slab is starting to look like rolling hills.  Is there a way to flatten out the bottom without my having to gain experience and knowledge on how to properly use the plane?  This experience will come in time (I hope) but I do not want to put this build on hold.  I also do not want to ruin the slab and have to start all over.  Any ideas?

Shannon

Now before frustration sets in, you can punt... What was that game-show with the 'lifelines?'

If the going gets really tough, you can probably get a local cabinet shop to run it across their 16" jointer for about $10... Could save yourself a lot of headache... Just a thought.

Good luck.

I saw that video showing the sled and router for the end part of flattening the whole bench. Can it be used at this stage? Will I run into issues? My boards are milled to 4.25". It would be nice if I could put it on my jointer ;)

I don't see any reason why flattening with a router sled would be any different than flattening with a jointer or flattening with a bench plane.

HHH also makes a good point about finding a larger jointer for this one piece.

There's also a trick for jointing a wide piece on a narrow jointer in two passes.  I'll see if I can find it. Ahh, here it is!