My Build(s)

Coming up for air after lots of milling and mortising and it seems like a good time to share my progress. You will also see some adirondack parts in the background. I got started on that as a warm up project in April and I am trying to keep it moving along with the Morris.

I'm fairly new to woodworking. Long time DIY type, but had some projects during the holiday season that required some woodworking. I started out bringing an old table saw back to life, but since then I have gone fully down the rabbit hole. I got my lumber home and as I was laying things out I realized that I had nearly enough 8/4 lumber to make 2 sets of legs and arms. I decided to double down and make 2 chairs and stools. 

Getting the legs milled and glued up, this is when I started to understand what I was getting myself in to.

post-15459-0-21200600-1401902004_thumb.j

post-15459-0-61823600-1401902020_thumb.j

post-15459-0-37856700-1401902031_thumb.j

post-15459-0-42861500-1401902079_thumb.j

With the legs at dimension, things got fun again. When laying out the mortises you get to put parts in place and really imagine things coming together. Once I had mortises laid out on all 16 legs, it was clear that my plans to cut mortises on the router table was going to be problematic. I lucked out and a family friend had a great router setup I was able to borrow. I will probably keep my eye out for this same Freud model on the used market. Very impressed with the dust collection and edge guide, and I breezed through the mortises once I was setup.

post-15459-0-34445400-1401902090_thumb.j

post-15459-0-03813700-1401902096_thumb.j

post-15459-0-26394300-1401902104_thumb.j

post-15459-0-29289800-1401902113_thumb.j

Next up was the rails. At this point I'm flowing pretty good with the actual woodworking operations but trying to plan ahead on ways to keep the growing inventory of parts safe and organized.

post-15459-0-51302500-1401902117_thumb.j

post-15459-0-87619400-1401902127_thumb.j