Turning project number 3

Ian Gagnon

So, I was talking recently about tackling a segmented bowl for the next thing I was going to turn, but honestly my work schedule has blown up and I just haven't had any time to really be in my shop for projects. I did have some time over the weekend, but I spent most of that rebuilding the cart for my planer and small jointer. I rearranged my shop a month ago to accommodate some upgrades and changes to my dust collection, and those two items needed to find a new home to fit into the updated layout.

With that said, I did find a few minutes to chuck up a blank and play around for a bit. I wouldn't really classify this as an actual project or finished item, but it is sanded to 250 and fully functional, so it's worth posting a pic!

If you've seen any of my other posts under turning, you know I'm new to it, and as such am learning as I'm going. I figured documenting my progress here where I am able to get feedback and pointers can't hurt!

It's another box. The top fits nice and snug. I wanted to try turning something with a more complex profile than the first box I made. All in all I think I learned quite a bit with this one. No finish on it... yet.

The taper under the sphere on top starts off a little too fat and the point could be cleaner, but other than that, not too shabby for a quick one.

photo-3-1.jpg

As always, I'd love to hear feedback!

Ian.

The only thing my eye catches is the sphere could be more circular. It is not easy to do! I had to make a series of spherical finials for a project and my acceptable rate was 1 out of 3. I drilled a hole in a piece of thin stock and then ripped it in half to make a template to eyeball from while turning. I had spare blanks and a high end client. For a one shot turning you got it close enough.

The overall shape is pleasing and you should be proud of it. Sign it and date it.