Bad day in the shop

We have been working on a custom ordered "community table" for a coffee shops for about 5 weeks now. Should have only taken three, but my wife had a baby and then a million little things were getting in the way.

I've been excited about this piece because the shop's interior design is way up my alley - modern with lots of reclaimed materials. Clean lines, but not cold.

Finally got some finish on the top yesterday, and it looks awesome.

Today I was finishing up the joinery on the base and then assembling. I was going to pin all the joints with dowels. Before I start drilling the holes, I decide to try the "draw bored" method. The table's huge, and I figured any added strength would be goo. Now, I've never tried it before, and of course I didn't bother making some test pieces.

I maked and drilled all my holes, basically "eye-balling" the off-set on the inner pieces.

I go to assemble and find that nothing lines up at all. Not only did I offset too much, but I didn't make sure my drill press was square, so it was all extra wack.

So I start trying to make stuff work, and fix stuff by drilling out material (defeating the purpose) and cracked some wood and basically screwed stuff up.

Ended up attaching parts with lag bolts. The "pins" will be just for show.

Basically, the lesson was, if you're going to try something to push your skill, don't wing it on a custom ordered piece of furniture.

Congrats Dad  :D  As far as your build, I feel for ya. Nothing worse than having a project in the final stages and being all proud and have something going wrong :angry: . Even though you got things patched up it's still not the same, but nothing ventured nothing gained.You'll knock em dead the next time.

Yeah, I am happy about the baby. And I should focus on that. We have a little girl, and this one's a boy.

I think the problem was my pride. I was so excited about my design that I didn't carefully plan everything out.