fairly new woodworker - wood selection for game table?

matthew-s

Hi - 

I'm a fairly new woodworker.  A project I want to take on is making a square game table (~3' on a side) for the family to play board games on.  It will be a fairly simple affair - square, tapered legs.  Hopefully a leather center section that I'll be exploring in a different post.

I want it to me modern-ish looking.  I'd think I'd want a relatively hard wood given the table use.

My wife was interested in something that would come out dark (say, dark gray would be nice).  I suppose dark browns (say, mocha) would be okay too.

I was thinking of going with (black?) walnut, based on some images I've seen posted on the web, but now I'm not so sure.

I live in Eastern MA if that helps.  I know some woods are regional.

Thanks so much!

Matt.

Welcome and best wishes on your upcoming project.

Walnut will do the job, but I'm going to be cynical and suggest poplar.  If a wife is involved and wants something "...that would come out dark" then that that suggests stain in your future.  Poplar can be stained to give her the dark gray or mocha she likes.  Cost will be substantially lower than walnut and you'll have great material to practice your skills.

When it comes to family members, I've learned from past projects that you're time will be best spent adding details such as curves and profiles, rather than drooling over wood grain.

• Like 2

-->  When it comes to family members, I've learned from past projects that you're time will be best spent adding details such as curves and profiles, rather than drooling over wood grain.

This is sad but true.  Only woodworkers and really discriminating people care about wood grain.  For everyone else, it is color and shape that matter.