New workbench

Dewald Swanepoel

Greetings folks,

I'm glad to have found this forum. It looks like the kind of place I'd enjoy. I will kick my participation off with a question on workbenches.

So I'm a real noob. I've done some woodworking over the years but have only recently started acquiring my own tools. And the one, most important tool, that I still don't have is a work bench. I feel it's time to give the patio table a reprieve now and build myself a workbench. Now I don't think I need anything too fancy and while a Roubo style bench would be awesome I think just a basic bench will do for now.

But I'd like to run it by some experts first who might be able to point out weaknesses or make suggestions. I'm attaching two pics of what I had in mind. I'll attach the Sketchup model as well in case anyone is interested in looking closer. You will notice that the entire bench is made from 2x4s, or some close metric relative. To be more precise, I'm looking at 38x114mm wood which is closer to 2x5 in weird-speak. :-)

For the surface and the shelf I'm thinking of either 18mm ply or 16mm MDF.

Feel free to rip the whole thing apart, but specifically, I'd like to ask these few questions:

1. Do you think this whole 2x4 framework will cut it? I'm thinking I could simply screw it all together with wood screws. Maybe fix the legs to the frame with coach bolts or something more sturdy than just a wood screw. Would I be OK with screws and bolts or should I consider mortise and tenon joints maybe?

2. Notice how the legs consist of two pieces of 2x4 that are screwed together in an L shape. Do you think this will be good enough or should I rather look at getting something more sturdy? Maybe something like a 90mm x 90mm square profile piece for each leg? The 2x4s would work out cheaper but if it means the bench won't be properly sturdy, I'd rather spend a little extra on the more solid legs.