My amazing wife said go ahead

Mzdadoc

I'm trying to get the last things as far as larger tools to get me by for as long as possible. Thinking like the mechanic I am, I need quality and long life.

What I'm looking to get is a drill press, oscillating spindle sander, and if money allows a jointer. My end goal I should state is cabinets, clocks, and furniture. (Way down the road beginner here)

Throw any suggestions at me I'm not in a hurry.

I agree with Mike. I bought an 8 inch grizzly jointer and absolutely love it (Although I know there are better machines out there) It was such a huge improvement over the jointer I previously had. For me, I barely ever use a drill press. I would probably put that somewhere at the bottom of the list. I don't have a spindle sander, but I always wish I did. I know a lot of people absolutely love the rigid spindle/belt sander and I believe its only $200

Since you're a mechanic, I'll go contrarian: used stationary equipment...

Lots of folks enter woodworking every year, and many more exit... There is plenty of quality gear on the used market and, as a mechanic, you shouldn't have too many problems that you can't solve... I also make this recommendation based on your project goals: Cabinets, clocks and furniture. These will eventually lead you to a fairly full shop and, not knowing your budget, the used market may get you there faster... The third reason I suggest used: every mechanic I know is meticulous (read as anal) about his/her tools... Again, not knowing your budget, you may get the quality you want far more readily on the used market. I know people get passionate on these debates, but there are real differences in quality out there... Not all of them justify the price premium, but... I know everyone can't afford a Snap-on toolset, but I'd rather have a used set from Snap-on than a new set from Husky...