$2000 budget for a Table Saw

Bao Loi

I'm a recent graduate at Gerald D. Hines Architecture school in Houston and have a question about tool suggestions. Recently, I've been interested in starting a small woodshop in my garage and the first power tool I'm looking to buy is a table saw. My budget is around $2000. Is there a reliable saw recommend in terms of warrenty, quality, usability, etc...  I've worked in the woodshop at school for 5 years on a StopSaw industrial tablesaw. I really loved it but the price is a killer. I'm thinking of the StopSaw Contractor model.

Also, what's the benefit of a cabinet saw vs. the regular stand saws?

If you have any other recommendations I would love to hear it!

Thank you!

Obviously there is only one company that has a blade brake. However, if that is not critical to you then grizzly makes some very nice cabinet saws under your price range. There is also quite a few used saws out there that are easily in your reach. What you get will depend on what features are important to you. If a riving knife is essential then a lot of the older used saws are not going to be under consideration. If you feel you must have a warranty for whatever reason then you are only looking at new. Etc

I've got a 5hp unisaw 12-16" blade with a unifence that I took out of service ~4 years ago. It's a beast of a saw! Rips 8/4 oak at 30'/min easy. I'm in college station and I'd sell for $700 cash. Pm for ph # or email.

Thanks T-Astragal. I'll probably buy new though.