Butterfly Leaf Table Phase 1

ResidentEvil

Hello all, I've been a long time lurker on WW and these forums and thought it was about time I started contributing to the community.

I'm a novice and hobbyist woodworker, mostly creating stuff for the shop and small items around the house.  About 9 months ago I decided to take the plunge and create my first big project for the house.  As per the bosses (wife) request the dining room table was numero uno on the list.  After a lot of research and planning, I decided to go with a fixed base expanding table with butterfly style leafs.

The visible portions of the table are all made from 3/4" hickory, and the "tray" built under the table top is made from birch ply.  The base of the table is fixed, meaning the aprons do not expand when leaves are installed.  Basically I built a standard fixed base table with aprons attached to the legs, then I built a tray that fits inside the aprons to house the extensions and the leaves (when not in use).  The end aprons are notched to allow the extensions to slide out when the table is expanded, a decorative cap was placed on the end of the extensions to hide the notch when the leaves are not in place.

I glued up the table top in one piece (minus the leaves) and cut in half to allow for extension.  As I could only buy 3/4" lumber I laminated a layer around the edge of the top to give it a thicker look.  I laminated several pieces of 3/4 together to form the legs, which ended up about 3 1/2" square.  Aprons and legs are attached with M&T joinery.  The legs have a simple chamfer on each corner and the top has a round over on the top and bottom edge.

The table was finished with 4 coats of danish oil followed by 8 coats of wipe on poly (satin).