Greeting from the NW Hills in CT

popper

Hi all.

I'm a newbie when it comes to woodworking but did some when I was in middle school over 20 years ago. I'm an at home dad and looking to make woodworking my new caree if I have the woodworking ablity to do so. Luckily for me I have my wife full support, which from what I read on forums I will need alot of.

I was a chef for over 15 years before we had kids. So this is where I need your guys help. As a chef I was able to have my newbies do things in the kitchen to hone their skills with out wasting product. I.e. dice vegatables, mincing garlic and herbs, making stocks and breaking down meat and fish. So I was wondering if there are things like that in woodworking I can do to hone my skill in the begain so that I can set aside for use later? I was looking at prices of wood around my area and don't want to spend a lot of money just to mess things up and waste good wood.

Thanks

Welcome, this is a place of learning!  It matters not how much experience you bring with you, you will learn something regularly!  You need tools to start with, what do you have at your disposal and then we might be able to get you started on a journey, that will confuse, befuddle and thrill you as you grow in the hobby.  Again welcome!

Thanks Tiods. Sorry I think I didn't make myself clear. I know I need wood. I was thinking of making things that will be used in later projects. Like in the kitchen I might not need 10 pounds of carrots small dice that day but I would use them over the next couple of days but it taught my new staff how to cut a small dice 1/4 x 1/4 x 1/4 perfectly. Thats more of what I was asking.

Building a stack of shop drawers is great skills practice. You learn how accurate all the parts have to be to get a decent fit and have the drawer run smoothly.