Thoughts On Using Rust-Oleum Epoxyshield Basement For Woodshop Floor?

TheWoodShouter

Hi guys! This is (obviously) my first post here, but I joined the forum because I am an aspiring woodworker and have been very impressed with the videos and tutorials on The Wood Whisperer's website; thanks, Mark :-) I am at a point where I am just beginning to put together what will in time be my humble workshop, and I decided to take the opportunity now to do some repainting before I start building workbenches and shop furniture. I have a small area in our basement that's mostly unfinished, it's about 220 square feet or so, but in that space the furnace, hot water heater, washer and dryer, sump, and work sink must also live. I have cinder block half walls on two of the four walls, drywall on the rest, and a typical concrete slab for the floor. I repainted the drywall, so it looks at least much cleaner, though still not perfect (hey, this is a shop, right?), and I painted the cinder block walls with DryLok basement waterprooofer, which I had tinted blue, and I'm quite happy with that. I would now like to paint the concrete floor, and after some research and reading the reviews, I decided on and have already purchased the Rust-Oleum Epoxyshield Basement Floor kit. But, I do have some questions and concerns about it and its application, and I'm hoping some of the forum members might have had some experience with this product.

My biggest concern is with the included paint chips. I think they have a potential to look great, but some reviewers had trouble with them adhering correctly into the paint, and some reported that the paint chips could tear out, taking chunks of the epoxy paint along with it. So I'm wondering if it's worth trying the paint chips.