Singer Sewing Machine cabinet

heamercer

Hello, I am brand new to restoring anything and I have recently aquired a singer sewing machine in its original cabinet. It was built in 1919 and appears to be made of oak (much of it is veneer though). It looks like it was finished at one time (I don't know if that was the factory finish or something added over time) but it only really remains in the grooves. Everything else looks like bare wood. I would like to protect and preserve this as a family heirloom but I will also be sewing with the machine.  I have been doing some research and based on what I am reading it sounds like doing a linsead oil rub followed by a beeswax coating would be best.  In order to do that I assume I need to sand or strip off the finish that is left in the grooves for the best result. I am not sure what to use. What grit of sandpaper would you recommend or would you strip it chemically instead? If so, what would you use? 

Additionally there are a couple rings on the top of the cabinet. They aren't horrible but I would like to try to work them out if I am able to. I have read that after a peice is oiled you can try rubbing it with butter to pull out stains.  What are the chances of that working on this peice and what is the risk of damage?

Lastly,  there are some dents and dings on one end on the rounded edge of the top cover. If something can be done to smooth it out a bit without harm I would like to know what it is.

Thank you so much. I look forward to seeing what you have to say about this.