Jointer shipping damage - should I accept it?

Richter

Hi all,

I am relatively new to woodworking.  I've been at it for about a year and decided to buy my own jointer.  I received it yesterday but it was slightly damaged from the shipping company - the base was bent in on two sides.  I ordered it online from amazon and they offered me a 20% refund to keep it.  After all the other discounts, I'd basically be getting a newJet JJ-CSDX for about $650 shipped.  I was leaning toward getting a replacement but I called the manufacturer and they said that it didn't sound like it would affect the function.  Also, they could not come pick this one up and deliver the new one until for 10 days.  

I did not see anything wrong with the jointer itself, just the table - although both boxes were pretty banged up.  The jointer box looked to have taken a worse hit but seemed to have avoided being damaged.  I haven't tried to take it all out and set it up.

I don't really care that much about cosmetic issues, but I am kind of worried that there might be something I am missing and something important is damaged.  I don't think this is the case, but I am being paranoid.  

Any advice would be appreciated.  Photos are attached.  Also, since taking the photos, I was able to straighten out the worse of the two sides with some boards and a clamps.  They now both look more like the side with the power cord and not as bad as the pictures.

post-16250-0-57974700-1412704462_thumb.j

post-16250-0-79723900-1412704464_thumb.j

post-16250-0-83342500-1412704466_thumb.j

Honestly, I wouldn't accept it. But since you worked on it since it being delivered, I'm not sure of the possibility of you getting it replaced anymore.

Thanks for the input.  It can still be returned, they don't have a record of exactly what it looked like before and after and the amazon guy said that I could try to fix it.