Dowel Coring/Boring/Sleeving

Eric Filson

I'm not entirely sure this is the correct forum for this but since it does involve some turning... here goes :)

I am wondering if it is possible to core / bore (not sure the correct term here as I'm completely new to woodworking) a 22.22mm hole through a 1" dowel. This will be sleeved with a 22.22mm OD 304 stainless steel pipe. This, of course, only leaves about 1/8" wall thickness on the dowel and that seems like it might be a little too thin. Also, I've read from many suppliers that dowel thickness could potentially be 1/32" smaller than 1" which would not work with such a small margin of error already.

I was thinking Option B would be to core/bore a larger diameter dowel, sleeve it, and then turn it down to the desired thickness (1" overall).

I should also mention the dowel length will be approx. 3". 

Thanks in advance for any help / advice! 

I would think drill and sleeve a 1 1/4" square blank then put it on a mandrel and turn it down to the size you need. The mandrel would need to fit the inside of the sleeve exactly .

22.22mm= approx 7/8" which should work. I have never seen a 22.22 mm bit.

Maybe a metal lathe could bore a hole that size with a boring bar but I bet it would take a whole lot of skill.

Or maybe you could wrap some veneer around the sleeve. If you bevel the leading edge ,then wrap , you could sand it smooth easier than trying to make a perfect seam. Rubber bands could serve as clamps.

Thank you both for the quick replies, very much appreciated!

I would think drill and sleeve a 1 1/4" square blank then put it on a mandrel and turn it down to the size you need. The mandrel would need to fit the inside of the sleeve exactly .
22.22mm= approx 7/8" which should work. I have never seen a 22.22 mm bit.
Maybe a metal lathe could bore a hole that size with a boring bar but I bet it would take a whole lot of skill.