Miter saws

jwebb2011

I have read some previous posts, but I was hoping to get some input towards my current situation. I am debating on picking up a miter saw before my next(second project). I have a few reasons for this, I will have a lot of use for it over the next couple of years, some repairs around the home and what not. But the reason i am debating to buying it now is because i dont have a table saw with a 45* sled available to me to use for my next project.

Now as previously stated this is only my second "furniture" project that I am trying to get started on. So while being a little bit of a perfectionist but allowing myself a little wiggle room because I am by no means an expert wood worker, could I hope to still make a decent piece of furniture using a miter saw for all my cuts? I do have a combo belt/disc sander available to help finish up any rough ends. As well as a joiner and a table top router.

I am not looking at a big fancy 500$+ machine! but I have always found reliability with hitachi machines and i found a very well priced sliding compound double bevel saw that I think i want to pick up. I dont plan on using this for fine woodworking for ever, probably just my next project.

1 more question, any recommendations on a type of saw blade if i do end up picking up the miter saw?

Thanks

Jeremy