Portable Table Saw Guidance

Illini40

Hello all,

I'm new to the site and new to woodworking. I'm excited to get into woodworking more this winter.

I am looking to pick up a table saw - a portable saw.

What insight can anyone provide on these two specific saws that I'm debating between? Comparisons?

1) DeWalt 7480

2) Ridgid 4513

Both are similarly priced at HD at the moment. I understand that these saws are not professional grade cabinet saws, but I've determined for my situation, they are the way to go.

As stated, I'm a beginner. Safety, accuracy, and a good fence are important to me.

I will not be moving them around, and they will likely be sitting on some type of mobile base / bench in my shop.

These are pretty common threads. They tend to go something like this:

Person wants a portable saw because they like the idea of them not taking up a lot of space. They ask for information about what portable saw to get.

The rest of the internet spends their time trying to convince them to not buy a portable saw because portable saws are for rough construction work where accuracy doesn't matter.

Really, though that is how they go. 

Unless you are moving from jobsite to jobsite there is literally no good reason to buy a portable saw. You can pickup a used contractors saw that is only a few years old for cheaper then a portable saw on a stand brand new so price is not an issue. The space saving item is almost completely destroyed because frankly that portable saw takes up almost the same room as a contractor saw. The contractor saws tend to come with mobile bases of some flavor (the ridgid and craftsman models do). The portable saws tend to be made from plastic and have nonstandard miter slots making accessories few and far between. And finally the accuracy is just not there on the portable saws compared to the most basic of contractor saws.