Scraper vs Smoother?

matthew-s

Hi. Maybe someone can help me?

I am a developing hybrid woodworker (slanted towards hand tools). Hand tools are pretty new to me though.

I'm making a small table out of Birch. It's my first "major" woodworking project. My other experiences have been closer to carpentry / DIY home improvement.

I'm finding I'm getting some tear out, especially on the aprons. I need to clean that up, but how?

I have the LN low angle Jack and block planes. What is my right next move?

1) Get better at sharpening, close up the mouth, and use what I have.

2) Get the 90* scraper blade for the bevel up Jack, save some money.

3) Scrapers and smothers are different. Get a smoothing plane. Don't look back, everyone needs one.

What say you? And if the answer is 3, can I make due with a bevel up scraper, as offered by LN, or will I be sorry if I don't invest in a bevel down scraper, like a number 4?

Thanks in advance!

Matt.

Hi Matt-

You could just put a higher angle micro-bevel on the iron that you have now for your jack. I have an extra blade for this, but I leave the higher angle blade in all the time unless I am removing a lot of material when flattening a board. I use a 40 degree micro-bevel by the way. Like you said, close the mouth up pretty tight. Set for a light cut and keep that blade sharp sharp sharp. :)

Short answer, you need both a smoother and a scraper.

Longer answer, you need to get better at sharpening and get both.

Personal input, if you like your low angle Jack, follow up with the LN low angle smoother. You will not regret it.

Edit. When I say scraper, I mean card scraper. :)

A smoothing plane is a specialized plane, with only one real task - to prepare a piece of stock for finish. Many people go right from no 4 to finish. Others will sand or scrape after using the smoother. It really depends on your work style, and how well your plane is set up.