Sander gone wild

forager

I'm relatively new to finishing. In my research about sanding, I learned about sanding the sequence. I decided to start with 80-grit and work my way up. I guess a newcomer and 80-grit sandpaper are a poor match. As you can see in the picture, I took certain sections of the piece too far down: parts of the edges on top (pictured), and small areas on the front (not pictured).

I completed the sequence up through 220-grit. I then applied a coat of 1lb. dewaxed shellac (another online tip?), which I lightly sanded after it dried. I verified (and re-checked) that I removed any residual shellac;  I then removed the sawdust from the light sanding.

I used General Finishes gel stain on the piece, but have been unable to stain the edges and the sections of the front that I have alluded to. I've tried numerous light applications on the edges, hoping to gradually darken them--no improvement whatsoever. I tried coating the areas with gel stain, leaving it to dry for 24 hours, then lightly trying to remove it a layer at a time, using 0000 steel wool and mineral spirits. That did not work. First, the thickened stain remained intact, then it would come off all at once, however lightly I rubbed. The attached picture shows the results of that effort.

One alternative: Sand the entire piece all the way down to match the edges, then stain that surface. However, I would lose the grain, if I were to do that, I would, in effect, change (ruin?) the character of the piece. Another alternative: Use a much darker stain. I have a can of Java Gel Stain, which is very dark. But I'm not sure that the edges would not still show much lighter than the rest. Final alternative: Strip the piece again and try to stain it a much lighter color than the walnut shown in the picture. (I'm clueless as to what would happen if I did that.)

Any effective ways to blend gel stain?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

post-294-0-04234900-1415252264_thumb.jpg