Adjusting wooden bodies planes

Doomwolf

Care of Joshue Clark (http://hyperkitten.com/) I now have a massive* 20" wooden bodied fore plane. It's my first time using a plane that uses just a wedge to keep the blade in, instead of a Stanley or Norris-type adjuster. I spent some time fiddling around with it this evening, and either the blade protruded too much to take a cut, or I couldn't get it to expose itself. What's the trick? I tried searching the archives here, but including "plane" and "wood" makes the search kind of non-specific.

Should I invest in a lane hammer? Current adjusting options are a beech wood mallet and a ballpeen hammer.

*The sole is an 1/8" steel plate screwed into the body. I once got the blade adjusted properly, and then it had enough mass to plow through anything. 

I don't have any wooden bodied planes but I have a few metal bodied (modern ones) that don't have any form of adjuster. I use a tiny brass jewellers hammer of around 3 oz to adjust the blades. To adjust them the plane is placed on to the benchtop. Then the blade is usually pressed by hand to touch the bench top. In your case the wedge is tapped in - in my case the clamping cap is set to finger tight. Then a slight tap on the rear of the blade (the top edge) - we a not talking a lot - takes it out to smoothing equivalence. If it is too far tap the back of the plane and it will retract.

When you are done tap the wedge a little more and you are all set.

For heavier cuts just tap a little harder. We are not talking driving a nail in force. 

http://www.alwayshobbies.com/tools/hand-tools/hammer-$4-pin-pushers/hammers/brass-jewellers-hammer