Stella doesn't want her groove

julzNjt

Hello,

I am hoping I can get some help and answers to my perplexing issue.  I recently bought this beautiful table from Craigslist and although it's in decent condition, it needs some TLC and a major flaw needs to be addressed.  It has these decorative, deep grooves in the top that catch every crumb and make it impossible to keep clean.  My kid can't do his homework at the table either because his pencil hits the groove and rips the paper.  It just isn't very functional and I would like to make the surface smooth if possible.  Is there anyway to fill these grooves?  The table is very heavy and appears to be solid wood, although I am a complete novice and don't know any specifics.  Any help would be appreciated.

post-16425-0-43083400-1416090773_thumb.j

post-16425-0-53695600-1416090872_thumb.j

post-16425-0-30024300-1416090927_thumb.j

Great chance to learn stringing inlay. I think for best effect I would inlay and then re-finish the top. The old finish will help keep your media from contaminating the top as it should lift off with the finish. Epoxy or resin casting is not a half bad idea either as Kev suggests, but not everyone likes that look. Since such deep grooves are a real pain for all sorts of reasons I wonder if the table came with a loose glass top.

Great chance to learn stringing inlay. I think for best effect I would inlay and then re-finish the top. The old finish will help keep your media from contaminating the top as it should lift off with the finish. Epoxy or resin casting is not a half bad idea either as Kev suggests, but not everyone likes that look. Since such deep grooves are a real pain for all sorts of reasons I wonder if the table came with a loose glass top.

Shaffer, I like your idea but, how would you do an Inlay with the curves? Can you direct me to a site