Getting Started - Need Guidance

Illini40

Ok - I am a beginner, and need some guidance on lumber purchasing and options available to me.

Scenario: I am a beginner, with minimal woodworking skill.

Tools available: table saw, miter saw, other basic cordless/corded power tools. I DO NOT have a planer or jointer, nor hand planes.

I look to utilize my Kreg jig for most projects. Primarily looking to do basic furniture, craft, etc work (book case, shelves, etc).

I have a Home Depot, Lowes, and Menards all close. Not aware of other sources close.

Question - based on my scenario and tools available (and not available), what lumber should I be looking at to purchase?

I have stuck to the pine options from Home Depot (1x4s, etc) for most things I have done. However, I feel like I may be missing out on better final results. The pine seems to be cheap, easy to work with, and already somewhat ready for use. At the big box stores, I feel like there is the pine, construction lumber, and then some hardwood (that I'm not going to utilize).

Just had our first child, so there is not much of a budget.

What guidance can you give on what I should be utilizing without buying a planer and/or jointer?

Find a hard wood dealer that's local to you.  Let us know where you're located and someone will chime in and let you know what's in your area.

From there, I'd suggest some simple projects with some hardwood of your choosing to gain experience working those species. 

It really just depends on ones mindset and expectations, I have been around the construction industry and building stuff in all mediums my whole life and at 45 I have just started to dabble in hard wood. I have not avoided it I just was never in a place to pursue it. I have just, for the most part, finished a new home here is a pic of the kitchen, made entirely of menards douglus fur 1x8's