Veritas seconds

Bill Tarbell

Anyone else make use of the Lee Valley cyber monday sale?  I jumped on right at midnight and began going through the 4 pages of items.  The website started to slow down at 12:05, but by 12:07 i was ready to checkout.  Sadly, the shopping cart page was extremely slow and kept loading 0 items.  This lasted for about an hour and a half!  I was finally able to complete my order at about 1:30.  I was bummed to find out that one of my items(carcass rip saw) had already been sold out by the time i got the cart to work.  Here's the stuff i did end up getting though:

Veritas® Cabinet Scraper (saved 35%) 

Veritas® #5-1/4W Bench Plane, A2 Blade (saved 35%) 

Veritas® Flush-Cutting Saw, Single Edge (saved 50%) 

I'm new to woodworking and this was my first veritas monday.  How does this year's selection compare to prior years?  They had 14 different models of seconds this year - 2 saws, a vise, and the rest were some form of hand plane.  It appears they also use cyber monday to liquidate some non-veritas stock.

Yay!  .. The carcass rip saw went back in stock from being sold out earlier.  I placed my order and now it's marked as sold out again.  I guess someone canceled their order and so i was able to get the last one.  The only bummer is that I had to pay $10 shipping since it was a separate order.  I called customer service to see if could combine orders but the guy couldn't move it to my first order without risking that the system would re-allocate the saw to someone else in the time it took to remove from one order and add to the other.  That dropped the savings from $20 to only $10.. but, i was going to buy it anyway, so i guess any savings is worthwhile.