Faces

wouldwurker

I know a lot of music, particularly classic rock.  It's what I memorized instead of math in my formative years

That said, not sure how I've not listened to Faces until this morning.  I've had them on spinning on spotify this am....every song is really good.  Like, really good.

Few of them though remind me of other songs though:

Debris sounds like Allmans Bros - Mellissa

Stone sounds like Beatles - Norwegian Wood

Flying sounds like Blind Faith - Can't find my way home

That said, I'm surprised that in all the musical circles I've run through over the years when I was a working musician, nobody ever mentioned Faces.

It sounds like you're listening to "A Nod is as Good as a Wink to a Blind Horse".

Try out "Ooh La La" too; it's quite good. I had it on vinyl back in the day and the album cover was sort of like a pop-up book except you bend the thing and the man pictured rolls his eyes.

Ronny Lane and Ian McLagan I think went on to play on most of Rod Stewart's solo albums.

Of course, Ronny Wood went to the Stones.

Dave

I grew up listening to them and other non-mainstream music. Faces is/was great. Rod Stewart used to be Punk Rock! Stewart has mentioned a few times that the band has talked about getting back together, but I've not heard anything about that in a while. Probably wont happen. I love the old punk rock roots music. Check out these bands too:

The Dictators

Flamin' Groovies

Gang of Four

MC5

The Modern Lovers

New York Dolls

Pere Ubu

Television

The Tubes

Wire

and well of course there are the more famous folks like

Lou Reed, T. Rex, Marc Bolan, The Stooges, Iggy Pop, Velvet Underground

My dad was in a band called The Legend, back in the late 60s. They had a great album called Dragonfly. It's not punk roots, more psych/heavy metal roots. You can check that too if you like at http://www.http://shanej.com/the_legend/

Happy listening!

• Like 1