Earlex 5500 (Espresso finish)

yandz

Brief intro, i'm a novice :)

I have built a few things a year for a while, mostly just some shelving units, headboards, frames, things like that.  I've always brushed on my finishes and usually just used the readily found stuff at Menards or The Home Depot.  Have used some General Finish products before as well.  I can get a pretty decent finish i've always been pretty happy with, but it takes me a while which requires me to take up a lot of space for lengthy periods of time.

I'll get to my question, I bought the Earlex 5500 after doing some reading on sprayers and getting some advice, no my issue is, i've read enough to know I'm not sure how to start :)  I got  a waterborne GF (Espresso) stain and figured I'd spray that on and wipe it off for a couple coats then put a finish over it.  Since i've bought it, I still haven't brought it out of the box, and have been doing more reading.  Now i'm not wondering if it wouldn't be better to just brush it on and use the spray to finish only? or if I should not use the stain at all, though my wife loves that stuff, and try to mix a dye maybe to match and spray that?  I've never mixed dyes, but I can usually figure stuff out.

My understanding, and I admit I might be completely wrong, but if I spray the wood, i have to use a pretty hefty dose to keep it wet and wipe off each surface as I go with this GF espresso, or else it will dry before I can get to it creating a uneven stain job?  Is it feasible to spray the inside, wipe, then do the outside? or will excess spray get on unintended surfaces and dry before I get to them ? is the excess so minimal on those surfaces it doesn't really matter?  If I spray too lightly will the stain dry before it is absorbed and just create layers of stain on top of each other and peel off?

I think I understand that with dye, I can just keep coating lightly till I get the desired look?