Fiancé's Jewelry Armoire

minorhero

Well its past time that I started on my next big project. And boy is this one a doozy. 

There are lots of things in this build I have never done before. So I really could use some advice about the build and ways to make things easier on myself. The armoire itself is HUGE. The idea is that this one piece of furniture will hold all the jewelry my fiance will ever own. Currently she doesn't have enough to fill even one of the bigger drawers in case anyone is wondering ;)

Ultimately the build will include a separate piece which will sit on-top of the armoire that will contain more storage for necklaces and have a mirrored door(s). I have been having a hard time designing one that my fiance liked so I am putting that piece on the back-burner right now and instead proceeding with the larger build. 

I am thinking of making the entire thing from solid wood. Walnut for most of the pieces with the possibility of a contrasting color for the drawer fronts. The sides are all made from floating panels. For the inside secondary wood I am going to use cheaper wood. My hardwood supplier has beach, ash, and (soft) ambrosia maple all for about the same price. So any tips on which of those woods is easiest to work with or best for this purpose would be greatly appreciated.

The vertical pullouts are for necklaces and my own design. I rounded the bottom of those to allow for less friction. No idea if they will work or not, So I would also love some feedback there.

The drawer rails are attached with 2 screws to allow for adjustments incase of binding.