What do you put your workpieces on when spraying?

daviddoria

I am relatively new to HVLP, and I love it! When spraying reasonably small parts (say about 15" long x 3" wide), I typically put some cardboard over a lazy susan that is attached to a small table. This works great if there are just a couple of parts, but if I have a stack of parts to spray, the cardboard gets pretty wet with overspray, and I sometimes end up accidentally placing the next part to be sprayed in a puddle of finish. Do I just need to cycle through several pieces of cardboard? Or is there a better way to rest the parts so something like this doesn't happen?

Thanks,

David

same problem got frustrated one day and i final just grabbed a nail gun and started poping the nails into a board.  now i just use that to hold it up in the air and spray finish my items. i usualy do smaller projects so i have a 12 x 12 piece if i was going to do furniture i would just make several smaller ones to place where i wanted them.    

I just use painter pyramids. But I always make sure I do the non show face first before turning it over. And then take great care not to move the parts as even the pyramids can leave marks. But as any marks are on the non show faces I don't care (no-one else sees them but I know they're there!!)

I built a turntable from telescoping sections of black pipe, flanges, and two ~ 2' x 2" 3/4" ply or OSB platforms. 

The smaller diameter pipe in each set is slightly shorter than the other, allowing the cut end to use the other flange as a bearing.  I have two sets of pipe, a 24" and an 8" set.  When not in use, I unscrew the pipes from the flanges, and the entire thing stores flat.   For larger items like carcases, table or sideboard tops, etc... I can screw strips of plywood or 2x right to to the top platform, and place weights on the bottom platform.   For items that fit on the top, I toss a nail board, inverted yogurt cups, pyramids, whatever works best at the time.