Of Fires, too much work, and making wood chips

Scott Bailey

. . . a story (you do not have to read, I tend to be wordy)

I am an attorney by profession, and a small-town lawyer at that.  I have a small office, and pretty much do everything myself, with the help of my wife who I cannot say enough about.  I share office space with another attorney but we are essentially separate (but are friends, of course, and often work together on this or that).  A week ago Sunday our office burned down.  it was arson, and it started in a neighboring unit in the building and spread, like fire does, and destroyed pretty much everything.  The fire fighters were downright heroic though and we did manage to save most of our files (wet and stinky files now).

This, of course, created a mountain of work that I did not anticipate, and for the past 9 days I've put in 12 hour days trying to recover lost work and continue with current work.  It's no joke, going through this, and I've been exhausted... not only that, but my garage / workshop has been commandeered to dry out wet files (it's a 3-car garage of which 1/3 is devoted to my "shop"), so now the humidity has changed, not to mention the smell...

... and unable to make any sawdust. at least until Sunday (the day-before-yesterday one).  I have been working on a decorative box for my mother for Christmas (very similar to the Rogowski box on Marc's site) and, well I'm not finished yet.  I pretty much only have shop time on the weekends and for brief periods in the evenings (say, for that next coat of finish), but this fire has really stopped the woodcutting entirely.  On Sunday, after some frustration with insurance companies and so forth, I decided to go and cut the lid for my mom's box, bad smell and all...