What finish for a gavel that will be used (not just a display)

rd400guy

Hello all.  I'm very new to woodworking.  I have a small lathe, and have turned a dozen or so projects before taking on my most "prestigious" to date:  a walnut gavel.

I'm also extremely new to wood finishing - most of my earlier woodworking projects either have no finish, a simple coat of oil, or spray polyurethane.

My latest foray into finishing was to put stain and 3 coats of oil based poly on some stairs and a doorway we had installed over the summer - this turned out great.

Back to the gavel - what finish should I apply to a gavel, that's going to be used regularly?  The sounding block we have is a piece of stone (granite or marble, I guess).

I don't want a very "hard" finish that might crack or chip off.  But I do want a finish that will stand up to the use - specifically if a sweaty hand is holding it.  And don't want a finish "soft" enough that it will pick up fingerprints, glove prints, etc.  Lastly, I'd also like it to have a pretty high gloss, that will really show off the piece of walnut I turned it from.

Both the head and handle were sanded to 600 grit.

I'm not as worried about the gavel getting small indentations as a result of being used - it adds character.

The gavel I'm replacing literally has chunks missing out of the face from decades of use.

If this one turns out good, there may be future orders from throughout our district.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

I would just use oil.  Any film-forming finish will be damaged as a result of its use.  Keep rubbing it with a high-grit pad or steel wool while the oil is wet, and you'll get a deep luster out of it.  Reapply oil as needed for the rest of its life.  Easy-peasy.

• Like 1