Square, Square Radius, or Round?

bfiedler

I am new to turning. I have made maybe 20 pens, a few coffee scoops, and a few pieces of excellent exotic firewood. I am realizing the issue I have is sharpening. I don't have the budget to purchase a sharpening jig, and I was a fool and bought cheep chisels (8 chisels for $40). I was looking at getting replaceable carbide tools, specifically Rocklers. My question is, if you had to choose a chisel, that would do the most of your work, which tip would you choose? I plan to make pens, and small gifts, as well as move into larger projects, like bowls, and spindles. Eventually I will expand the tool collection, but would like to start with 1 that will do most of the work for now.  Any help would be great! Attached is a photo of a few pens I made... just for attention. Cause thats what we all want.

post-15558-0-61165600-1420244354_thumb.j

Nice pens.

I can't answer your question, I just figured I would give you some attention... :)

Kidding aside...I like the pens.

You should throw up some pics of your work on a Showcase thread if you want to show off.

I'll bet many of us would find them inspiring.

I'm not a pro turner by any stretch. I would advise you to read up and practice sharping what you have with what you have or can get. I simple bench grinder and a flea market stone will do to start. You can learn to sharpen buy sight and feel along with a few homemade templets or gauges to check your work and this is better done on cheap high speed steel tools any way, when you step up to carbide you will need a slower grinder with a speciality wheel.

the work looks nice bye the way

my answer is get them all.............you dont need to buy a store bought tool there expensive and frankly there super easy to make.  you can make your tool handle and shaft then just drill hole and tap it with threads.  then you can just use a bolt to hold a blade in place.

here is a source of cheap blades there going to be mostly square blades