Whats in the shop

Shop Talker

Hey all I Am really new to the hand tool woodworking world my experience is lacking in all accounts. What I am trying to figure out is what is in a hand tool shop. I know the bench is the heart of the shop but what other things are there like saw bench, jointer bench and that's where I'm stuck I don't know any of the other things. What other shop fixtures and tool benches or jigs make the work easier that would help me in my new found passion. thanks for all the help

Welcome to the forums!

Suggest spending a couple days tripping thru youtube so you can understand what a loaded question you're asking.

I don't say that to be a horses back side and certainly don't mean any disrespect.  Being brand new tho, it may help you to understand fully what you're in for and how many variations are out there.

Suggest checking out Roy Underhill, Chris Schwarz, and our very own Graham Haydon (you're welcome G) on youtube.

Good luck!

• Like 1

I'm no hand tool expert but here are some basics that are needed in a hand tool shop, and pretty much every shop for that matter. The individual tools will depend on what you're looking to build, for instance you don't need a scorp or adze if you're not hollowing out chair seats and doing that kind of work.

A LARGE WALLET - this gets expensive =)

Measuring tools - rulers and such

Combination Square - a good quality square is invaluable

Crosscut saw - gotta cut your stuff to length when you build

Rip saw - if you're going strictly hand tools you'll want it for ripping wood

Hand planes - block plane, jack plane, scrub plane, jointing plane, smoothing plane. You've got a million choices here, but a block plane and jack or smoothing plane should definitely be in the mix

Miter box - for making 90/45/etc cross cuts

Dovetail saw - joinery is inevitable and a good dovetail or gents saw is a good option

Chisels - This could get messy, there are all sorts of different kinds for different purposes