Is it possible to "contaminate" a high grit sharpening stone?

dewitteridder

I am very new to sharpening. I used to use a full set of DMT stones but was never satisfied with the final extra extra sharp stone's results. I just purchased a #1000 Ohishi and a #8000 Ohishi stone hoping to get that crazy sharp chisel and plane blade edge. My first chisel (pm-v11) I got the back to a nice mirror shine and the edge was cutting hairs off my arm with ease. I then moved onto some narex chisels and some other pm-v11 plane blades. At one point I took a plane blade to my coarse dmt stone and rinsed off the slurry in a small bucket which I also used to get the slurry off my stones and off the blades to check progress. I noticed that all my blades since the first I can't get a mirror shine anymore. The back of my plane blades and chisels remain cloudy. It is possible I got some course grit slurry embedded in my #8000 grit stone that is preventing me from getting that mirror shine? If it is, how can I solve this problem? I tried rinsing my stone under fresh water and changing out my water bath. I also would gladly accept any tips on sharpening with water stones. Thanks so much!!

I'm not sure that mirror finish is a necessity. In fact I'm more than happy just for the cloudy grey and a flat back (only over an inch or so)- as long as the chisel pares ok then you're good to go. You could try a strop and some honing compound if you really wanted to see a mirror finish.

Yes, I am flattening them using a 4"x10" DMT coarse dia-sharp stone. I use a pencil to make a cross hatch across my water stone so I can stop flattening my stone when all the pencil marks go away. I then dunk my stones and my dmt plate in my bucket of water to clean them before using them for sharpening my plane irons and chisels.