Pre-milled versus rough

daddyman77802

Hi folks, 

I would classify myself as a beginner woodworker although I have been tinkering for several years. My goal for 2015 is to build all new living room furniture in the mission style. Have picked out my plans for the projects and have decided to build them all out of cherry. I have all the tools to do my own milling, but I have never done it before. I purchased all new blades/cutters for my saws, jointer and planer and have tuned them up the best I can. Should I purchase rough cut lumber (S2S at varied lengths and widths) and mill it myself, or go ahead and purchases S4S (more consistent sizing) from the hardwood distributor? The price for 4/4 FAS cherry is $3.80/bf where as the price for S4S 1x6 is $2.93/lf. With the exception of the legs of the furniture, I can make all pieces out of the 1/6's (3/4x5 1/2). 

Tanks in advance!

Daniel

Just my .02 worth but, I'd think you'd be better off doing your own milling for a few reasons.

1.  Skill builder - It's a skill you should have and you have the tooling to do it

2.  You'll get more consistent sizing this way

3.  You'll probably be able to have some thicker pieces if you want them

Good luck!  Look forward to seeing the builds!

• Like 1

This is just my opinion but personally I like starting with rough sawn.  You have a lot more options as far as what you're able to do / use.  Chances are the s4s lumber will still need to be re-milled to flatten and straighten leaving you with less meat than you need.  The only downside to working with rough is that you don't always know what is hiding beneath the surface.  But sometimes that can be a good surprise!

Alrighty!