Shaker Chimney Cupboard

ChrisFaulkner

Hi All.

I am a long time WoodTalk Forum lurker and have always gotten so much from this forum.  I have decided that I should contibute and be more of a participant and not just a taker.  I am a fairly new wood woodworker and am only 30 years young, but my dad taught me to swing a hammer and frame a house, so I am not new to using tools and building things.

I started this project journal to document building a Shaker Chimney Cupboard.  This project is for my most important client (my wife).  It will be made from poplar and the design came from a Fine Woodworking article that was in the magazine a couple of months ago.  I began the work on this a few weeks ago just after Christmas when I had some time off work, and got quite a bit accomplished.  Now that I am back to the grind the progress has slowed way down.

First step was picking out the lumber and rough layout to determine what piece would come out of what board.

post-5712-0-26797500-1421181924_thumb.jp

Next was milling up all of the wood for the cabinet case and shelves.  And since I only have a nine inch planer, I had to cut the boards for the sides down and then glue them back together after milling.  This is a picture of one side glued back together and the second side waiting for the clamps.  I used biscuits to help keep things lined up.

post-5712-0-95698800-1421181924_thumb.jp

After cleaning up the glue squeze out, I was happy with how the case sides turned out.

post-5712-0-04307800-1421181926_thumb.jp

Then all of the panels that will make up the shelves were glued.

post-5712-0-37500200-1421181925_thumb.jp

Then it was time to cut all of the pieces to final size.  I used a panel cutting jig and stop blocks for consistency when I made the crosscuts.

post-5712-0-37700800-1421181926_thumb.jp