What Type of Wood Should I Use For This Project?

SawDust132

Hi all,

I am constructing a conductor stand that will be in an orchestra pit to allow the conductor to see both the cast and orchestra. I have a few other threads here as well regarding the same project so feel free to reference them if you need more information. I will attach a picture or two of the final design to show you what it looks like. 

The question lays it out for you. I have finished the design, but have one thing left. I have to decide on what type of wood to use. I'm by no means an expert on wood, I don't know the terminology/grading system too well so please keep that in mind. Aside from holding itself up, the stand will need to hold the conductor, only ever one person at a time, sometimes a full size digital piano, and other misc. music gear (music stand, headset/mic, laptop, computer).

Any help is appreciated, 

Thanks!

bcHnOV5.pnggzpaFaF.pngN07eUpq.pngDzd52BP.png

Raefco, has it right... however, there is another consideration in using construction materials, It's hard to make it look good.   You can go through the process of milling construction grade material, to improve the appearance, but it still will require some sort of finish.   What do you want it to look like it?  What's the budget?  What is the time requirement?  What skills do you bring to the project? What machinery is at your disposal?   There is more than design involved, there's your parcipatation , and what exactly do you want it to look like.  Elegant? Average? or like a yard deck?  Is it going to be around for 10, 20, 30, years?      There is an large amount to consider and you need to make those decisions before you pick up the first hammer or nail!