Coloring with iron acetate, and grain filling.

Shane Jimerfield

A new video from W. Ng Woodworking school.

I've never tried anything like this before, but it sure looks interesting. I really like wood in as natural a state as I can make it, yes this very labor intensive.

I would probably only do it to satisfy a customer or to match an existing piece.

Very instructive nonetheless.

Tell you the truth when he started by blowing the wood off the board I thought ok resonable I wouldn't do that till the end but each his own. But when he started wrapping tape around his fingers my first thought was oh brother I work with my hands the caluses protect my hands so if your hands hurt from sanding then maybe you should do some real hard work or build more projects so you sand more. some of us can't have a cushy job. (To be fair I did wake up in a craby mood)

Some of the finishing work was interesting but as the video was going on I couldn't help count all his chisles and planes I can understand planes with different heads so if you do specialty hand work but why do you need over 30 chisles?

William Ng s shop.

Japanese chisels come in many different styles and can be quite specialized . I know they usually have a harder steel for the edge forged to a softer iron body. With a hollow back. Some of these chisels can be very expensive. I am sure a little research will give you a more detailed explanation . The Japanese and asian approach to woodworking is very different. Thin saws that cut on the pull stroke, hand planes that are pulled (not pushed) and sharpening techniques that produce incredible results.

My aunt always told me it's better to appear un-educated than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. Even if we don't use all these techniques learning about other ways to do things opens up possibilities .

• Like 1