Stainless steel rods as pins

I am going to start a new project, and I am using stainless steel rods as visible pins in the joinery. I've never used them before. Any advice on:

- Where to buy them? (I was just going to order from Grainger)

- How to glue them to the wood? (Rough the surface of the steel with sandpaper, and then use West system epoxy is the plan)

- How to cut them? (Hacksaw? Recip saw? Cut-off wheel?)

- How to sand them flush to the surface? (Low grit to high, just like anything else I'm assuming)

- What finishes won't work? (I'm assuming any oil/varnish blend will not work)

Thanks in advance,

Jonathan

===============================================

I'm thinking recip saw w some sort of cutting fluid, make a mask by drilling a hole in some scrap laminate, grind pretty coarse but watch the heat, then sand coarse to fine until flat.

Sand and epoxy route is where I would go.

Graingers, McMaster Carr , scraps from a stainless fabricator ?

Stainless steel hinge pins for doors will also work really well for this purpose and can be purchased from big box stores. I have purchased brass pins for this purpose.

I would use a hacksaw personally, but I just want the extra control using a hand tool gives me. I would sand the pin flat before you install it, that way you have it nice and smooth. Then install it so that it is essentially where you want it to be. So if you want your pin to be proud, then install so it is proud. If you want it to be flush then install so it is flush. Sanding once it is installed will change the wood around it a lot quicker then the pin itself.

I've used them in a couple of pieces.  I shaped them on an oscillating sander holding them with pliers, dipping them into water frequently for cooling, and epoxied them in place.  I have them in a three-legged stool as locking pins to hold steel stretchers into mortises in walnut legs.