BigAss Lights

woodbutcher74

Coop since I was a Mazda tech for many years I've grown to hate shadows. So when we built our first house I made sure it was 12 noon no matter where you stand in my garage.

My old neighbor across the street said when I opened my doors it was like the seen in Christmas Vacation when he turned on his Christmas lights. LOL

Coop since I was a Mazda tech for many years I've grown to hate shadows. So when we built our first house I made sure it was 12 noon no matter where you stand in my garage.

My old neighbor across the street said when I opened my doors it was like the seen in Christmas Vacation when he turned on his Christmas lights. LOL

I have 40 T8 bulbs powered by HO ballasts with white walls and ceiling and it is nice and bright. If I put my hand a 6" above a surface I can see a slight shadow but working in there I don't notice any. 

I looked into these quite extensively. The con's outweigh the pro's for a wood shop. The following is my opinion based on research I did.

Pro's 

Small package despite the name with a big punch! At only 2 foot long these suckers put out 13,000 lumens with a 5000k color temp and > 80 CRI. That is  Kick A$$ output !

They are virtually indestructible.. Go ahead and wave that 2x4x8 footer at it...It won't break.

You can change the LED driver and lights when new technology comes along.

Con's

No matter how bright a light is, if it doesn't throw far you need more!

You need more than the advertised @ 1 per garage bay to evenly distribute light in a 12x24 room for wood working. 

at $400 beans a pop...Get your wallet out! There are better cheaper LED options.